PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

palictyton

Lurker
Feb 28, 2016
I'm Still pretty new to this site, so Hello everyone.
I've been smoking pipes for many years now by just appreciating the things that I've stumbled upon, and I would like to expand my appreciation for this fine art. Like in jazz, I often tell people that if they want to start their library that one of the must haves is Miles Davis' "Kind of Blue" album, which I believe is a great launch-pad.
Which blends of tobacco do you guys believe that would also be great launch-pads to have in my cellar?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Welcome palic'. I'm glad to recommend blends that I happen to like. I think it will be more useful to send you to the online retail sites (our sponsors a the left of the Forums page) to do some research. Then try smallest available quantities of (for example) one aromatic, one English, and one Virginia/Perique. Stay with mild rated blends at first. The research will be a good learning curve and more helpful than random suggestions. Don't buy larger quantities for a year or two; your tastes will change and develop. The search is part of the enjoyment. Okay, for my input, get a tin of Nat Sherman 536 (the non-aromatic English) available at smokingpipes.com and other sites. Happy smoking.

palictyton

Lurker
Feb 28, 2016
So far I have:
Royal Yacht

Tudor Castle

Escudo

Nat Sherman 536 (the non-aromatic English)

Mixture 79

C&D Buffalo Soldier

Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake
Like the Nat Sherman 536 has (the non-aromatic English), can someone help me out with which category the other blends fall into?

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
Hello Pal...You should go to pipesandcigars.com and research the above answers yourself. Also tobaccoreviews.com
The reason for my answer will be learned when you do this yourself. :rofl:

1adsarge

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 19, 2016
NE Nevada