Mr Brog Pipes For A Beginner?

(29 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by phantomwolf
  • Latest reply from phantomwolf
  1. phantomwolf

phantomwolf

Login to Send PM

Hey there

Every time I notice that Mr Brog advert on the side of the screen I say in my head: "You're going to like the way you smoke. I guarantee it." haha

Anyway, I am fairly new to pipesmanship and frankly most of my money has gone to tobacco-leaving me with a single lonely briar and a few MM cobs. I figured this a good place to ask what, if any are some good cheap pipes to start with. I was wondering if $30-$40 pipes are a waste of time? Should I just save a few more bucks and hold out for the $80-$120 range pipes? Peterson, Savinelli, and BC are some of my favourites aesthetically in that range. Any suggestions and or advice is appreciated. Sucks being new to hobby that has so few local enthusiasts.

Also, I have seen 'lots' of used pipes on ebay for reasonable prices. Is it a good idea maybe to grab one of those and try my hand at refurbishing?

Thanks,
    Justin

“Life... is a tale
    Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury
    Signifying nothing.” -Bill Shakespeare
    Posted 2 years ago #
  2. okiebrad

okiebrad

Login to Send PM

I too spend the majority of my smoking funds on the tobaccos. I have fair number of briars but 90% of the time I use one of my cobs. Personally, my inexpensive cobs work as well as my expensive briars.

Posted 2 years ago #
  3. warren

warren

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Grab a handful of cobs at the local drugstore if possible.

A man without a shillelagh is a man without an expedient.
    Posted 2 years ago #
  4. didimauw

didimauw

Mod

Login to Send PM

Purchase what ever you can afford, while still paying the bills. I find that it's not so much the pipe that smokes well, but the person that smokes well.

"I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve."
    Posted 2 years ago #