PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

frennchy11

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 28, 2011
Hey everyone,
So im relatively new to pipe smoking as i have only started 6 months ago, and I was wondering about Meerschaum Pipes. I have read up on them a little bit and learned that they color with aging. What I am wondering is if you can control the amount in which they age or if you can control the color of the pipe. What got me started on this topic is the pipe used by Lee Van Cleef in For A Few Dollars More. Any help will be appreciated! :puffpipe:

tobakenist

Lifer
Jun 16, 2011
Middle England
Good quality Meerschaum will colour from the inside, the more you smoke it the quicker it will colour. The outside can also colour by absorbing oils and crud from the hands, this can be kept at bay by not handling it with dirty hands but I think this is natural colouring, some would say wear gloves, some would say only handle it by the stem only, I have an 1886 meerschaum that has hardly coloured, this is due to the outside being waxed and that it hasn't been smoked much, I fitted a Peterson P-Lip stem to it and it smokes great.

frennchy11

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 28, 2011
Thanks! One more question, is it possible to stop the coloration of the pipe?

kf5eqv

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 6, 2011
Oklahoma
Not completely, unless you quit smoking it.
Smoke it seldom though, like certain occasions and the coloring should be reduced.

maxpeters

Can't Leave
Jan 4, 2010
Frennchy11,
I have two meerschaums that I bought quite a few years ago. They have colored somewhat after numerous smokes but from what I understand, any new meerschaum won't color the way a lot of the older ones did. What you will get is coloration where you touch the pipe the most. Since it's not practical to completely touch it all over, you end up with a splotchy pipe.