PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

antipatros24

Lurker
Apr 16, 2013
I admit that although I have some limited experience with briar pipes, I know almost nothing about meerschaum pipes. I did some extensive reading on the subject and I realised that someone's best bet when buying a meerschaum is to find a reliable seller/carver that sells pipes made from meerschaum block. But even then (I read) that there might be a problem with their smoking performance, as the main focus of the carvers is usually the looks of the pipe. It happens that this week I am leaving for a trip in Istanbul in Turkey. I found out that there is a carver there under the name Bilal Dönmez (his site: http://www.meerschaumwork.com/index.html), but I could not find any info/review about his pipes.
So, I would like to ask you, if any of you has any experience with his pipes and whether you would recommend him or not. Also, are there any other noteworthy meerschaum carvers in Istanbul?
What I am looking for is a pipe that will be a good smoker rather than elaborate and fancy.
Thanks in advance for your help.

arabpipesmoker

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 7, 2012
I am glad that you have point this as i am attending a meeting in Istanbul late May and just start searching and reading about Meerschaum pipes in Istanbul and the best place/shop to visit.
Hope somone will answer us with informative places.
Thanks in advance

Wasim

antipatros24

Lurker
Apr 16, 2013
So, no one has any experience from this carver?
At least any tips on what to look for when buying a meerschaum pipe?

teufelhund

Lifer
Mar 5, 2013
St. Louis, MO