PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

yazamitaz

Lifer
Mar 1, 2013
Sam first introduced me to this tobacco about a year ago at my first attendance at Morley's Pipe Club in Philadelphia. Being a novice I followed his suggestion and bought a 100 gram tin of this baccy. I smoked it and hated it. I thought it tasted like peat moss, so the next time I let it set out for 30 min. Now it tasted like treated lumber. I pushed this to the back of the cellar and basically overlooked it like the girl you KNOW you could get but decided to go home alone. I brought it out to the club last night hoping to get rid of it and thinking there would be more folks that would want it so I could get rid of it. Of course, the only person that sampled it was Lestrout and he commented that this tobacco was at its perfect humidity level.
I have to admit that this tobacco never did anything for me, but since my tin was so low I figured I could almost kill it tonight and make room for some other tins that were in my favor. Well that's when then epiphany you never thought would happen did. I let a bit sit out for about 30 min as I cleaned up after dinner. This tobacco gave me a sweet, molasses-like full smoke that I never tasted before. This tin had always been the red headed step child of my cellar and was looking for a reason to chuck it. Well all I can say is stop the presses. This tobacco gave a long, creamy flavorful smoke that I never got before. I think the resting time turned this from something I had no patience for into one of the best smokes I have ever had. Odd??? Yes. But I have to give this up to aging. Call me crazy but this is my first realization of aging tobacco, even for only a year.
Let me know your thoughts.... And thanks Sam. You were so right about this baccy.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013