McClelland Scottish Woods and Grey Havens

(11 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by homeatsea
  • Latest reply from carlomarx
  1. homeatsea

homeatsea

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

It's funny that McClelland was just mentioned in another post, because after my first (wonderful) experience with their Frog Morton Original I have been searching their selection of tobaccos looking for new, interesting things to try.

Scottish Woods, in particular, stood out to me. I've scoured over the reviews on tobaccoreviews and I've become even more intrigued. The tobacco contains latakia, orientals, and virginias. As a rookie, I'm not sure how to even categorize this tobacco, nonetheless know what kind of flavor I'm in for.

Grey Havens also caught my eye as I have recently been getting into the world of virginias and va/pers.

Both have been described as light on nic, which is a positive for me as I've found myself quite sensitive to the stuff. Aside from this though, I'd like to know if any of you have tried either of these tobaccos and if so, could you offer up your thoughts on them?

-Home At Sea
    Posted 6 years ago #
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM

I had a tin of Grey Havens years ago, and yep, I remember it being light on nicotine, and I remember that I didn't care much for it, but don't remember specifically whether it was something in it, or missing from it. This is probably a good indication that you'll like it, since my taste seems to run contrary to most other pipe smokers, especially those who prefer lighter tobaccos. I remember it being fairly boring to my taste, but again....I sort of need to be clubbed into submission by a tobacco to really take a liking to it (maybe I should try dating women like that). I like strong, heavy flavors, and/or nicotine bombs. I'll smoke less "interesting" tobaccos, but not as often, and won't remember them as well over time.

Posted 6 years ago #