PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

olewaylon

Can't Leave
Oct 14, 2012
What is your opinion on this tobacco?
I just received some from P&C today and I'm a bit flustered by it. It smells and looks like an aromatic almost feels like they gave me the wrong tobacco. I've never tried this before so I have nothing to base it on. I guess I was expecting a more straight forward red Virginia blend with some of the notorious ketchup smell. I have the box sitting next to me at work and I can smell a potpourri from 3 feet away me(none of the fermented smell I love). Does anybody in here like this blend. I'll be loading my bowl for the ride home but not sure what pipe to smoke this stuff out of, because by the aroma I think it might ghost a pipe.

salewis

Can't Leave
Jan 27, 2011
Red Cake by McClelland or by McMurtry which I think is better must be smoked very slowly or it will bite. Also, if you commit it to a jar it smokes better with some age on it say about a year or two.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
@olewaylon: sounds like you may have received the wrong tobacco. There is a catsup smell in 5100, although it is more slight than some McClelland Virginias. It does not have an aromatic smell. I love this blend and have 2 pounds aging in my cellar. It is a great, straight-forward smoke. It may be too plain for some palates but I like it. Many use it as a base to mix other tobaccos but I usually smoke it straight or with a pinch of blending Perique.

olewaylon

Can't Leave
Oct 14, 2012
Flyguy, I'm really starting to think I received the wrong tobacco. Because this stuff doesn't seem like anything I've read from any reviews on 5100. The Tobacco is very dark shiny and smells exactly like potpourri and very powerful, I could smell it right when i opened the box.

werdna

Can't Leave
Jun 6, 2013