PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobpnm

Lifer
Jul 24, 2012
Panama City, Florida
I've been smoking Golden Extra and London Burley Blend for several months now. In the tin they look exactly alike. Seems to me that Golden Extra is London Burley Blend without the top dressing. Both have a small amount of Virginia. They are similar yet entirely different smokes. Without LBB's top dressing, Golden Extra is more of a straight burley smoke with a little sweetness from the Virginia. I get all of the burley and more Virginia from Golden Extra. If Carter Hall iis the well brand, Golden Extra is top shelf. If you like burley, Golden Extra is worth a try.

easygoer

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 31, 2013
Smoking both myself right know. Smell reminds me chewing tobacco. I find they are great for beginners like myself in terms of packing and lighting. E Roberts wrote a nice review on this site for the London Blend.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Good of you to post this, Bob. I'm working on both blends myself right now, but I haven't done much

in the way of comparisons or critical smoking. I like both a lot, but Burley London Blend seems

a little more satisfying at the moment. The other Burley in Mac Baren's product line, Norwood, is good too,

but merely an "also ran" competing for attention, IMO. Well, I'm sure it is justified by sales figures,

but I often wonder why, because it has so little pizzazz.

bobpnm

Lifer
Jul 24, 2012
Panama City, Florida
I agree with Perique. While LBB is definitely topped, I find it subtle. It certainly isn't soaked like most aromatics. For instance, I love H&H Classic Burley Kake. It definitely seems more flavored than LBB to me. It's a question of degrees. Some will find the topping on LBB heavy. Some won't.

ejames

Lifer
Oct 6, 2009