PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobojoe

Can't Leave
Jun 15, 2011
Realities of life ! Learning that you can not pick up a pipe and smoke it.

After 11 months of smoking , I am just beginning to get a feel for this.

Failed 1st grade. It takes more than 2 bowls to get the flavoring of a blend.

You can not switch from one tobacco to the next in on session. The hardest

part is packing the bowl right. Hot then ok and not in sequence. Cleaning

is not a 2 minute job.

So if this was on school year time, I am still in 1st grade. Than i only smoke

from 3.30pm to 4.30-5.00pm.

I have a Greek nose and I can smell a gnats fart in a cross wind. I enjoy the smell

from the smoke instead of the taste. Working on that and it means 1 blend for several days.

Self control is not one of by best characteristics.

So back to learning. Next step is looking through the forums here and practice on packing styles.

Irony of it is that in the end it all goes up in smoke and a piece of furniture your wife refuses

to clean.

Joe2shoes

pipedisciple

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 18, 2011
Sounds like your becoming of age in pipe smoking. It what you like and what you want to smoke, IMHO, keep going the joys of pipe smoking will reveal themselves as you go on your journey. Regards, Sam :puffy:

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc
It sounds like you learned your lessons well Joe! Reading up on techniques is most definitely a help and cuts down on the poor experiences. No smoking anywhere near the good furniture for me. But a similar spouse tip is to always clean the kitchen counter top when filling/maintaining tobacco jars - leaving tobacco scraps for Mrs. Jones to find does not endear me to her!

Jul 12, 2011
Like anything, practice-practice-practice...It took me over a year to get to a point where I don't even think about packing bowls, learning what blends smoke/work best & in which pipes...