PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

12pups

Lifer
Feb 9, 2014
Minnesota
Okay, so I'm new to wines. Never wanted to know too much about them, as it would become an expensive hobby. But... then... I found out what complementing the palate experience was about.
I like Folger's Black Silk coffee with my Prince Albert, for instance. Something "whole" happens in my mouth.
But what wine?
I know reds are generally recommended for robust tobaccos, and that makes sense. You match robust beefy meats to them, for instance.
There are some sweet northern tier white domestics, based on Frontenac Gris and Brianna that are recommended for sweet tastes... even dark chocolates. I would imagine them good for things like Molto Dulce.
Can anyone recommend a wine for Orlik Golden Sliced, as well as for Newminister 403 Superior Round Slices?

rcstan

Lifer
Mar 7, 2012
Sunset Beach NC
I smoke mainly Virginias and I find a glass of Merlot ( even the cheap stuff, such as the $7 Rex Goliath 47 pound Rooster ) to be a suitable companion to just about everything.

12pups

Lifer
Feb 9, 2014
Minnesota
BV and Coke, btw, is going nicely with my Rushmore blend, I'm finding. Wonder what wine would go with this sweet blend.

Sep 27, 2012
Upland, CA.
Don't think Ive ever had wine while smoking... I enjoy a nice wine sometimes with supper, but usually its Sweet Tea, Whiskey or a nice Stout when smoking.

iamn8

Lifer
Sep 8, 2014
Moody, AL
I'm a bit afraid if using the P word, but that P tobacco, aged a decade, always made me crave a great Bordeaux like Chateaux Margaux.

12pups

Lifer
Feb 9, 2014
Minnesota
Captainprophesy, +1 on your signature. S&W 40c on my kidney right now. When cops stop carrying guns, I *might* -- cuz bad guys don't just shoot at cops. They feel they need to carry, I take it as a strong hint I should.

Sep 27, 2012
Upland, CA.
When cops stop carrying guns, I *might*