PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mephistopheles

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 14, 2014
Hello all,
I sent out a bunch of friend requests earlier this evening. I'm not sure if that's a practice that's taken seriously on this site or not. I see that some of you folks know each other on some level and I wish I had more of a personal connection with other pipe smokers like yourselves.
I've been a member on here since October. I've come to you guys with all kinds of questions and you've helped me with everything. I have no one to learn from locally. I'm a college student in my early twenties in a world full of pipes and tobacco. You guys have been a great source of entertainment and knowledge for me for a while now and I really appreciate it.
Just another message from your friendly neighborhood Mephistopheles.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
I get that. Picked up the pipe 23 years ago, and didn't have the benefit of the internet or forums. Was all trial and error back then. My only outlet for pipe discussions was an ocassional trip to a B&M 30 miles away. Now being older and more experienced in the hobby, it's a joy to help newcomers. Even have a few young converts that I work with that I am helping along. Having someone to talk with about our hobby is a wonderful experience.

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
You guys have been a great source of entertainment and knowledge for me for a while now and I really appreciate it.
I think anyone doing research on pipe smoking ends up here whether they like it or not. This forum has been fundamental in my becoming a proficient pipe smoker.
I'm glad you've decided to stick around a while!

darthcider

Jan 24, 2014
Wales
Much the same thoughts here.

Started with pipes Xmas last year after fags and cigars.

I don't know anyone who smokes a pipe, so the advice on here has helped me a lot, thank you.

Can we all man hug now?