PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sapo59

Can't Leave
Dec 29, 2009
As many of you may know I'm a carpenter of ten years. I have recently become unemployed, much to do with the recent state of the economy. I received an e-mail from a certain lawn care products company about possible employment. I returned the e-mail expressing my interest in any job openings they may have. Shortly after replying to the e-mail I received a call from a representative of the company. He started to go over the details of the job including hours and the characteristics of what one would have to do. The next question out of his mouth was "do you use tobacco products?" My response was yes. He said then you would have to quit using tobacco for ten days and call me back. I said NO I will not. I don't think this is something I would be interested in. I then said how does tobacco use affect the way one can perform their job? To no response, I guess you are not supposed to question why you shouldn't be able to use tobacco products. In my opinion this is a sad time in our country when tobacco use in lumped in the same category as drugs and alcohol to disqualify from getting a job. I for one will no longer use this companies products and anyone interested in the brand names of this company can send me a private message. I will be more than happy to tell you who they are.

admin

Smoking a Pipe Right Now
Staff member
Nov 16, 2008
St. Petersburg, FL
pipesmagazine.com
That is infuriating. Keep private whatever you want to, but I think we should start composing a public listing of companies that are unfriendly to tobacco and boycott them all.
We do have a substantial and growing audience on this site, and I am certainly for telling all of our viewers information like this.

sapo59

Can't Leave
Dec 29, 2009