PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

acadianangler

Lurker
Apr 14, 2014
Hello all.I just have a question about the cuts of tobacco .Borkum Riff for example i put it right in my pipe.Now the MacBaren scottish mixture is more stringy and longer. Should I cut the tobacco and make smaller? or smoke as is.

Thanks

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
No need to alter it. It is a very nice blend. With ribbon blends I use the twist method to pack. I take a bit in my palm and twist the pipe over it, I've been using this method for a couple of years and it has worked very well with the majority of my blends. Also, smoke the Macbaren blends slowly. That is the key to enjoying them otherwise they can bite you if you are an aggressive smoker. Good luck.

settersbrace

Lifer
Mar 20, 2014
I smoke a lot of ribbon cut and I use either the 3 step pack or Hanna's "air pocket" method which is similar to the above suggestion. What you do not want to do is over pack or make your initial fill too tight. In a medium sized bowl for example I'll gravity fill then use my pinky to press or pack to about the half full point. Gravity fill again, pack to 2/3 full, anther pinch to just overfilling and then I kind of twist and pack with my finger. Is it perfect? No, but I get by with few relights and if I take time to dry it to almost crunchy, I smoke down to all white ash in the heel, no wet blob of ribbon cut dottle in my pipes. The air pocket method works best for ME in a larger bowl and it's a fabulous smoking experience if I've done it right. There seems to be very little wiggle room with how tight the plug is formed but I'm fairly inexperienced with it and am still experimenting.

saltedplug

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Most MacBaren blends I've smoked bite, Old Dark Fired and their Navy Flake the exceptions. I wish I could smoke more of their tobaccos as I like their tastes.

easterntraveler

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2012