PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bphilli75

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 27, 2013
I've been smoking a pipe for almost five years now, having started a little later in life at thirty four years old. I have a modest collection of twenty two different tobacco blends - a couple Lane aros, a few english blends, some burley forward blends, a couple nice C&D blends, a couple of va/pers and this MacBaren Mixture - Scottish Blend.
I'm giving this blend a shout out, because it's the first blend that has me reaching for it almost every time I go to my shelf these days. I look over all the others I have, thinking I may want something else, but then I always go for the Mac B Scottish. I really enjoy it. It lights well and burns great. I just gently rub it out between my fingers, not my palms, to just break it up a little and loosen it for packing. I don't dry it at all. The moisture level seems perfect for me. I've smoked it mostly in .80" diameter bowls, no filters. It will bite a little if I'm not careful, but that's ok, because it tastes better when I'm careful anyway. Saving a little for a retrohale tingles the nose a bit in a good way. Maybe this is the one.
...if it doesn't end up on a discontinued list like my beloved BLB. Fingers crossed.
Peace,

Bill

bphilli75

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 27, 2013
I was surprised to see it was considered aromatic also. I will say I and my family enjoy the aroma very much, but I appreciate that it is not very sweet.

JimInks

Sultan of Smoke
Aug 31, 2012
I've heard it's one of MacBaren's top seller in Europe, so I doubt you'll see it discontinued any time soon. I like it a lot, but as previously noted, it needs to be smoked slowly or at a moderate rate.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I've found the Mac Baren blends a little harsh -- Danish Gold and Navy Mixture (loose tobacco), if I remember the names