Mac-Baren Mixture Flake (the Flying Wallendas of blends)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

andya27

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 15, 2014
My tin dates to July 2013. Certainly not well-aged, but a bit of age on it. When it arrived a month or so ago I heat-sealed half the tin in a small mason jar to age for another six months to a year. The remainder went into another small mason jar for daily use.
My first impressions of this tobacco were not positive. I was making the new pipe smoker mistake of comparing this to other tobaccos not in its genre. It arrived with an order other tobaccos, including a tin of Orlik Golden Sliced, and as I'm a Virginia lover, it just didn't stack up to OGS. I figured a flake is a flake. Newbie error.
A month of aging in the non-sealed mason jar has done wonders for this tobacco. Or perhaps I'm just beginning to appreciate each tobacco for what it brings to the palate. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this tobacco - the tin describes it as a blend of Virginia, Burley, Cavendish, and lightly aromatic. A very apt description.
Mixture Flake was my morning smoke today. Once lit, it stayed lit to the bottom of the chamber. And I really enjoyed it. Really really enjoyed it.
The tin note is slightly sweet, though to my nose not indicative of what it might taste like when lit. And once lit, today's smoke was very nice: an extremely well-balanced blend of tobaccos with just a hint of a sweet casing - and to my taste buds it seemed more on the cherry side rather than vanilla, but I wouldn't go to the mat on that. The room note was very pleasant - a tobacco that I believe non-pipe smokers would not find offensive. By the time I smoked half-way down the bowl the sweet flavor started to wane, but the sweetness of the fragrance remained. Smoked down to ash, there was no harshness, just a balance of flavors.