PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kumotaki

Lurker
Aug 29, 2015
Hi,
First post here. I've been smoking pipe for several months and never considered "the tobacco side" of the activity, meaning that I buy what's available in my town. Actually, there's a sumptuous tobacco shop here famous throughout the French-speaking part of Europe that regularly sells me their various and delicious home-blended "Danish mixtures". Never looked further until a week ago.
Knowing that I favored their "danish" to their "english" (from the room note point of view), I was seriously thinking to be an aromatic smoker. Actually, room note matters to me because I sport a fine-looking 'stache and I have my room note under my nose all day long even when I'm not smoking. Oh, and my wife cares a lot about our place not stinking of "english blends" odors. I like english blends, but that's another matter. My only real experience is Peterson Wild Atlantic. It's an english blend, right? Love it's peaty side, but it's not welcome at home.
On a whim, I bought from the said shop rather praised "aromatics" as Peterson's St Patricks Day and Gawith Celtic Talisman. On the first bowl of each, I was disgusted. Something between cheap air freshener and dishwasher soap. Totally chemical in flavors. How can I inflict that to myself?
Thus I'm lost. Am I an aromatic smoker? What is a "danish blend" if not an aromatic? What kind of tobacco should I try that doesn't offend bystanders? Any recommendations would be very welcome. Those recently bought two tins were a waste of money.

reniaeats

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 4, 2014
United States
Well, for starters, the Peterson St. Patrick's Day was awful. I just didn't get it at all (and I really like good Aromatics).