PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmsutton

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 11, 2014
I have been smoking a pipe for over two or three years now, but I think that still qualifies me as a beginner. I have always enjoyed aromatics and classic American tobaccos (Carter Hall, Half and Half, etc.), but now I am looking to get into some English and Oriental blends. I got some John Bull "Royal English" and to put it nicely we didn't really hit it off. I blending it about 40/50 with some Sutliff Chocolate Supreme and topped it off with some Mac Baren Symphony (I know it sounds crazy, but it turned out fantastic). I would love to get some nicer blends that won't leave me resenting Latakia or Perique.
Suggestions would be much appreciated!

mirain

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 5, 2011
On the Oriental side I'd suggest:

McClelland's 2045 (bulk)it's a straight Oriental blend.

You may also want to sample their 2040 (bulk) which is much the same as 2045 but with a bit of Cyprian Latakia.

Of course, any of McClelland's Grand Orientals would fit here.

jah76

Lifer
Jun 27, 2012
Welcome!
I'm a fan of lighter Englishes personally.
I LOVE Lane's Leo. Very mild, and the taste seems to be in the Orientals>Virginia>Latakia order.

I also really enjoyed Dunhill's Early Morning pipe. It's another I restock.

Chelsea Morning by GL Pease is also top notch in my book. Somehow it's got this creaminess to the smoke, almost like coffee and cream with just a touch of sweetness.

McCelland's Jubilee is a sleeper tobacco in my opinion. Sweet, plummy, smokey, and sour. It really changes it's flavor as you smoke through the bowl.
I've tried a bunch more, but these are all tobaccos I have/will repurchase in the future.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
I think I'll echo the Dunhill My Mixture 965. It's a full-bodied blend -- not a "light" English -- but it's tempered a bit with the addition of cavendish.