PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

zerohunter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 19, 2017
I lucked out and found an estate Dunhill at an antique store, and I am in need of someone to restore it. Although I am no Dunhill expert, I believe it is a Vernon Patent. Anyone on here do restorations and/or can anyone recommend a good restorer? My main concern is the white dot. The stem is missing the dot, but the hole is there. I would like this beauty to look as good as it should. It is (conservatively) very beat up but not unsalvageable. I've been told GeorgeD does some excellent work...paging GeorgeD...

dmcmtk

Lifer
Aug 23, 2013
Zero, a thread of interest,
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/rare-vernon-dunhill-1935-re-stem

zerohunter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 19, 2017
I will certainly reach out to George. Here are some photos:
xzTa55t.jpg

BGO6cZn.jpg

FYyHeI4.jpg

FJBzsnM.jpg

NYeNsa0.jpg

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Definitely a Vernon tenon, and from what I understand the rarer of the two styles. Great find!! You definitely want GeorgeD.
I'll post a picture of my Dunhill with Vernon tenon, it's the more common version, for comparison.

zerohunter

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks, everyone. I'm looking forward to getting it fixed up so I can say I finally smoked a Dunhill. Ash, I'd love to see your Vernon. I just reached out to George.

georged

Lifer
Mar 7, 2013
Definitely not a zero, Zerohunter. (looks like you'll have to change your name, now) :lol:
I'm conflicted, here. I haven't accepted in any new work for a while as part of my RTBTITT campaign (reduce the backlog to improve turnaround time); but I wouldn't want to be indirectly responsible for that cool old pipe getting jacked if it happened to end up in the hands of someone whose intention exceeded his ability, either. No re-wind buttons, and all that. It is a truly rare pipe.