PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmdrmcbragg

Lifer
Jul 29, 2013
Brothers,
I am a journalism student who is on his last week of the semester. As such I have a final paper due this Wednesday. The class is Column Writing and I chose to write about the pipe smoking community. I am going to post what I wrote below and I am mainly looking for feedback if you think it is a good snapshot of the hobby. I have a word limit (which the below is still slightly over) so I can't make major additions without making major subtractions. This is due Wednesday morning so I'm open to any suggestions or comments from now until Tuesday evening.
Here we go and please, all suggestions and/or constructive criticism are appreciated.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
There are a lot of things to be enjoyed in life, for some -including myself- one of those is lighting up a pipe and puffing away on a good tobacco blend.

I picked up pipe tobacco smoking last year around summertime as a natural offshoot of my cigarette and cigar smoking. I mean, I was doing the only other two ways to really smoke tobacco, why not try the third? I did and it was an experience that lead me to put down the cigarettes, the worst of the bunch as far as society and I are concerned.

Pipe smoking has a special seat in the minds of the public. Cigar smoking could be said to be something that the affluent do due to its usage in advertising and movies. But pipe smoking is generally held as something that the bright or eccentric engage in.

Some influential and recognizable people have been associated with pipe smoking, or were avid puffers themselves: Albert Einstein, General Douglas MacArthur, General George Patton, Mark Twain, JRR Tolkien, Jacques Cousteau, Joseph Stalin, Julius Oppenheimer and many others.