PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

obihann

Lurker
Jun 10, 2012
So I'm only very new to this, and currently smoking captain black gold. I'm gonna pop to the smoke shop today to get a pipe tool, maybe a cheap corn cob to go with my cheap wood pipe, and pick up some new tobacco. I'm looking for something cheap and common, but a unique taste that I hopefully will notice the difference compared to the captain black.
Thanks!

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010
Actually, the Altadis Mild English (many B&M's carry Altadis blends as their "house" bulk blends) isn't a bad intro to English blends, but Peter Stokkebye English Luxury is a better bulk if they have it.
-Jason

obihann

Lurker
Jun 10, 2012
Just got back from the nearest smoke shop, and I got into a conversation with the buy before I could even ask about the brands you all suggested (there going on my must try list I promise). He started explaining the difference between aromatic and english tobaccos, I asked for something that might be more cool or refreshing and he said what makes it cool is often the distance between the bowl and your mouth. I asked him a bit about corn cobs and he said you may notice a sweeter taste with the english blends but nothing on the aromatic. So... I picked up a pipe tool (didn't have one yet), some filters, a corn cob pipe, and a tin of old dublin by betersons of dublin.
I think I will try the old dublin in my current pipe thats half broken in, but with a new filter. That way I can hopefully better compare with what I'm used to smoking, I figure if I change tobaccos and pipes it won't be that fare of a comparison.

mattmars

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 13, 2011
Sounds like you have a great resource at your B&M. I think you'll get a lot of people here saying that you should ditch the filters. Good luck on your endeavor!

barkar

Lifer
Apr 17, 2012