PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cam9

Lurker
May 1, 2017
I’m very new to pipe smoking, but I’ve always had a real appreciation for any handmade crafts, where people put their heart into their products.
I can’t stop looking at pipes…even for the few that I wouldn’t necessarily purchase if money was no object, are so beautiful. I can absolutely see how someone can have a LARGE collection of pipes.
For now, I’m trying to take it slow with my 1 Corn Cob and 1 basket pipe and lament about my next purchase in the $75-$100 range. This site has been so helpful to me as I try to minimize as many rookie errors as possible. Thank you.

Edit: Capitalized all words in thread title per rule #9.

zackery

Lurker
May 13, 2017
I am like a kid in a candy shop or toy store when I go to The Briar and Burley. I want one of everything.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
We're a bunch of enablers here. Makes us feel better about ridiculously large pipe collections. Been buying them for 26 years, and have 115.

madox07

Lifer
Dec 12, 2016
cam9 you will quickly find that people around here are divided into more than one category. You have your pipe smokers, then you have your pipe collectors, and thirdly you have what most of us are - pipe smokers and collectors. Truth be told, if you can afford it, why not? Sure ... on a day to day basis you will have 4-5 pipes in rotation, while the rest of God knows how many pieces are just museum display items. But then again, if that is what tips your boat, go for it. Some guys collect stamps, others collect old coins, I personally went through my beer mug collecting period ... so nothing wrong with collecting pipes.

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011
For now, I’m trying to take it slow with my 1 Corn Cob and 1 basket pipe and lament about my next purchase in the $75-$100 range. This site has been so helpful to me as I try to minimize as many rookie errors as possible. Thank you.