London Mixture - Latakia is growing on me (and a grape or two)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

3 Fresh Il Cerchio Pipes
12 Fresh Eltang Basic Pipes
48 Fresh Neerup Pipes
24 Fresh Barling Pipes
12 Fresh Dunhill Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

andya27

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 15, 2014
I'm still quite new to pipe smoking. Perhaps a month or so ago I had asked for recommendations on some good tobaccos for newbies. Two that I ordered based on all the recommendations were London Mixture and 965. When they arrived I wondered if something was wrong - they had such an unusual, and not really appealing, fragrance. My wife agreed that they smelled unusual - and in her opinion - horrific. I tried smoking them, but it just wasn't enjoyable.
Fast forward a few weeks and the arrival of a tin of Frog Morton Cellar - which also has some Latakia - and I realized that the Dunhills smell as they're supposed to. I wasn't thrilled - as Cellar didn't smell any better in the tin than the Dunhills. But I smoked a bowl of Cellar. Then another. Then another - until it has become perhaps my favorite.
So today I brought out the London Mixture again. You know, the Latakia fragrance is growing on me - both in the tin and in the bowl. Smoked in my 320, the London Mixture was a true joy.
I'm beginning to get the sense that I may enjoy a variety of tobaccos, and that Latakia is one that will be a staple for me as the years progress. I remember 965 being a good bit stronger than London Mixture, so I may wait a few more weeks before I dive back into that tin.
I also found it quite enjoyable to eat a bowl of grapes while smoking - just a bit of sweetness and liquid.

Mar 31, 2014
Welcome to the love of latakia! I can't get enough of it. The past month, I've been smoking stuff with nearly 50% Syrian latakia, and I originally just started out with it as an accent to a blend. Be careful, it's addictive!