PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shur

Lurker
Oct 5, 2014
I'm new at this and to get the best "bang for the buck" I'm trying to buy used pipes on ebay.

At this point I've only cleaned up 2 pipes and I'm happy enough with the results that I'll keep going.
The pipe that I received today is a Big Ben Pipo. The seller didn't know it's age but I believe it takes time to turn a stem that green/grey color.

This pipe turned out to be in excellent condition and aside from cleaning the stinger and wiping out the bowl the only thing to do would be to sand and buff the stem, but I don't know if I will.
Aside from aesthetics is there another reason to get this stem back to black?
(I dont have a buffing wheel I can devote to wax yet so none of my pipes are going to be display condition)

torque

Can't Leave
May 21, 2013
Oxidized vulcanite has a taste that isn't exactly pleasant. For me that's reason enough to remove it.

shur

Lurker
Oct 5, 2014
Anthony: Thanks, I'll keep that in mind.
Torque: I figured that would be a reason but I am not getting any flavor from this at all.
I did sand down the tenon a little bit* as I found the fit almost beyond hand tight and find it strange that it is grey/green on the stem but a yellow/orange on the sand paper.
*1000 grit, a couple twists then wipe and check. Repeat.

huntertrw

Lifer
Jul 23, 2014
The Lower Forty of Hill Country
"Aside from aesthetics is there another reason to get this stem back to black?"
"Oxidized vulcanite has a taste that isn't exactly pleasant. For me that's reason enough to remove it."
+1 torque!
shur: