PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavendish

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 22, 2013
I have been smoking these two blends now for a few months now and I think I'm due to make a comparison (for others to relate).
I find myself wondering if I have a sensitivity to Perique. Here's why I think so; When I smoke LBF for a few days I find my gums will be sensitive to the touch and get a little red. When I smoke OGS, the same thing happens but not to the degree of LBF (don't worry, it's not that serious). I find when I remove the Perique circle in the LBF it makes for a nice smoke with VERY little bitterness from the P. Comparing OGS to LBF without the P in the middle thet are close to each other. I honestly think that leaving LBF to age for a few months helped mellow it out, but the P was still bitter to me.
I want to try out some different Va/VaBur blends. I find my palate to be very selective and I can pick up on little hints of flavors in the tobacco. I enjoy smoking different blends and with me having an open mind of most things I'm willing to try pretty much anything. What would ya'll recommend as some nice Va, or VaBur's?

pipebow88

Can't Leave
Jun 12, 2013
Like they said the circle is cavendish not perique, and i like the LBF alright, but it's just ok. I have a couple ounces coming in tomorrow to revisit it. What i really like is the Luxury Navy flake because it doesn't have the cavendish. Mcbaren Roll Cake is about the only thing with Cavendish that i've really cared for. Though admittedly I was looking forward to trying it because I found an old pipe tobacco tin of my grandfathers and it was Mcbaren roll cake.

B

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Upon reflection, your observation that OGS and LBF without the core are similar is pretty astute.

They would then both be VaPers. This prompts me to suggest that you stick with VaPers for a while.