PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tg51

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 24, 2017
Fort Polk, LA
I'm very new to pipe smoking and I picked up some frog mortons original the other day. I had only been smoking Virginia and Va/Pers so I wanted to try an English blend. The first thing I noticed when I opened the can was a very strong and unfamiliar smell, I assume the Latakia. The first bowl that I smoked left me very confused by the new flavors of the Latakia, but now it is my go to blend for the end of the day. My main question was just how Latakia heavy is Frog Mortons original? Did I accidentally stumble on one of the heaviest Latakia blends as my first English or is this just a taste of the strength that latakia has to offer?

snowyowl

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 21, 2015
Well, ya. Frog Morton is some thick brew for Latakia lovers. The campfire plus wine barrel aroma is the Latakia... and a chunk a wood that aged some port or sherry once upon a time.
Recently there was a discussion on Latakia blends where the member asked about small amounts of the smokey stuff:

http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/a-smidgen-of-latakia

ember

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 8, 2014
I've read many times that FM blends are a great intro for new guys trying English blends so Im guessing the answer is FM's on the lower strength scale of English blends. I've only tried FMC and it's one of my favorites

mortonbriar

Lifer
Oct 25, 2013
New Zealand
I find frog morton to be heavy in latakia but different from other english blends that are also heavy in lat. FM has more of a sweet and sour thing going on with the smokey flavour, like the latakia has had a cavendish process applied or something (I have no idea if that is the reason for the difference, or if it is even feasible as a process)

Jul 12, 2011