PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stanlaurel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 31, 2015
I am a student of American Indian history. I live in the Ohio valley which was once the heart of Shawnee territory. I don't think that it is a stretch of the imagination to think that Tecumseh once walked down the creek bed which runs through my property.
Kinnikinnick was a smoking mixture used by these Native Americans. Does anyone know if a reproduction of this stuff is ever produced? Has anyone ever tried any? Does anyone know more about this?

carbonmated

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 5, 2015
You may find this functional for your needs. http://www.myworldhut.com/products/Kinnick-Kinnick-Traditional-Native-Herbal-Smoking-Blend-Bulk.html
Kinnikinnick , contains no tobacco, it is an herbal blend used in ceremonial pipe smoking, I might order two pouches, one for me, the other for a friend.

aldecaker

Lifer
Feb 13, 2015
I seem to recall seeing it for sale in the Dixie Gun Works paper catalog. This was years ago, so may not hold true, but could be worth a try.

northernneil

Lifer
Jun 1, 2013
Kinnikinnick , contains no tobacco, it is an herbal blend used in ceremonial pipe smoking
Though there is a lot of truth to this statement, it is not 100% accurate. Many First Nations people in the western prairies in Canada smoke a mixture of tobacco and willow bark for the pipe cerimonies. They also call it kinickinick, or how ever it is spelled.

michaelmirza

Oct 21, 2015
Chicago, IL
Grandfather's Spirit sells herbal KK mixtures as well as hybrid mixtures like this one that combine herbs with tobacco: http://www.grandfathersspirit.com/Old-Cherokee-Tobacco-Mix.html
I'd love to try it but it's really pricey. I really like the theology behind it.

carbonmated

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 5, 2015