PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

elmafudd2

Lurker
Nov 16, 2015
Hi all, just joined the forum from the UK. I am very new to pipe smoking, i have two pipes - a peterson and a church warden! few questions - how do you keep your pipes nice and fresh? Also pipe and tobacco pouches, do they take on the aroma of the tobacco in the pouch and does that aroma ghost into any new tobacco you store after the first lot? Cheers Dr Andy :)

michaelmirza

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 21, 2015
Chicago, IL
Bare minimum: run a pipe cleaner through your pipe after every smoke, and let it dry fully before smoking it again. As for tobacco storage, get yourself a mason jar for each blend. Those are the basics!

jmsutton

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 11, 2014
Be sure not to remove the stem of your pipe until it has completely cooled down. It also helps to keep the pipes fresh if you store them with the bowl down and the stem up, in a vertical manner. Welcome to the family!

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015
I run a pipe cleaner or 2 down my pipes when I'm done smoking and then after 20-30 smokes I disassemble the pipe and give it a thorough cleaning using bristle pipe cleaners and high proof grain alcohol.....usually vodka in my case.

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
My pipes get funky if I don't let them rest and dry after a few smokes. I also have a leather roll up pouch for my tobacco that took about 8 oz of tobacco ( 2 oz at a time) before the smell of the past owners tobacco disappeared completely.
Welcome to the forum Dr Andy!

iamn8

Lifer
Sep 8, 2014
Moody, AL