PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigsby

Lurker
Nov 20, 2014
Hello people, I have never smoked tobacco in a pipe, but I plan to in the very near future. I am almost ready to stain and buff my first creation from briar once I get the stem bent a little and my new tobacco arrives. I have been smoking cigarettes for 30 years or so and thought I would give the pipe thing a try. I have ordered 3 varieties, "frog morton cellar, half and half, and some sir walter raleigh, is any one of those the best for breaking in my new pipe? I realize now that I might need more than one pipe so I can get a rotation going and not over use the one I have made. Many more questions to come, but don't want to bore yall with those just yet, thank you....

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
Welcome to the forum bigsby! :puffy:
Use the search function and check out the beginners thread:
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/forum/pipe-smoking-basics-amp-beginner-questions
There's lots of good info all over this site and a great group of folks to help you on your journey! :)

bigsby

Lurker
Nov 20, 2014
Thank you cobguy, been lurking here for a few days, trying to get my avatar going now, but yes, I have found much information in the beginners thread, thank you

bulldogbriar89

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 3, 2014
Welcome to the forum. Pipe smoking is a skill that takes allot of time and patients to get the hang of so don't get frustrated and quit. Their are a ton of how to videos and tobacco blend reviews on youtube watch some and keep practicing. I love Frog Morton Cellar, it is great for beginners, or experienced smokers. their is a great woody smell to it and the hints of the rum in the taste. it is a good smoke not going to give you tong bite (unless you puff like a chimney). If you ever have questions just ask their are allot of people here to help you. have fun with in and enjoy.

bigsby

Lurker
Nov 20, 2014