JN. Barber (smoke.co.uk) Sent me a used and abused pipe!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

namuna

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 22, 2013
* On October 21st I placed an order for a Peterson System Ebony 317.

* On October 23rd, I received an email from them that they didn't have the 317 in stock but they did have the 303 if I'd rather have that. I asked if they had the 317 in standard color smooth. They did and shipped it.
Today, I received the pipe and the first thing I noticed is the that the bowl looks used and reamed out. But I'm still new to this piping world so I dismissed it. But when I looked it over in more detail, overall it just seemed "dull", not all shiny and new like a new pipe would be (going by the other Peterson Killarney I got).
Well, the real proof was when I tested the airflow, it didn't seem very good...Upon taking the stem off and trying to pass a pipe cleaner through, it got stuck in the stem and come to find there was GRIT and little pebbles in there!!!!
I had to use a toothpick to pick at and fish out the grit, grime and pebbles in the stem! Here's a pic of all the crap that had to be cleaned out of it!

10618333243_a85d673cf3_o.jpg

Here's what the inside of the bowl looks like:

10618061015_be68a4c079_o.jpg

I've emailed them and waiting for response.

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
The Killarney has a glossy finish (unlike the Aran, for example, which has a matte finish) and the bowl (to me) looks new, but I don't know how to explain the dirt. That's pretty wild.

rmason

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 27, 2013
That has got to be one of the weirdest things I've seen when it comes to pipes, hope this ends well for you namuna.

~Ron

flmason

Lifer
Oct 8, 2012
The edges of the bowl rim look like they might have some char marks.
Perhaps they might have sent you an estate pipe. Check your packing invoice against the price shown on their website.