PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

1fatbbqr

Lurker
Apr 21, 2013
I will be in Chambersburg, PA this weekend visiting relatives, and thought I might stop by Boswell's while I'm up there. I am relatively new to pipe smoking and am still not sure what types of tobacco I favor yet. I am definitely interested in all types of flavors. I used to smoke cigars, and can really appreciate a wide wide range of flavors. I've been to his shop before, picked up two of his pipes, but was too new to pipes to even contemplate getting one of his blends. I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for any of their blends that I should try. I am very interested to hear any suggestions, and will provide a full report of what I get and my thoughts about each type.

lazybugger

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 9, 2012
Definitely get some northwoods its great ... one of my favorite aromatics is the xmas cookie and the paradise if your a vanilla fan altho most of his blends are great ... nice mild tasty smokes with zero bite

brewshooter

Lifer
Jun 2, 2011
I've tried Christmas Cookie, Berry Cobbler, and Northwoods. Christmas Cookie is good. I particularly like Berry Cobbler, as I can actually get the berry flavor out of it, unlike so many aromatics. I think Northwoods is the real winner though.

drwatson

Lifer
Aug 3, 2010
toledo
OOOOO, I love boswells!!! Only one I havent liked is pom holiday. Shoot a message to bring back their autumn blend!

supdog

Can't Leave
Nov 10, 2012
Just tell them what you told us in your post. I'm sure they can set you up with a sampling of their blends. Let them know what you have smoked and what you have liked and disliked. Take your pipe (sometimes shops will let you sample a bowlful for free).

Jul 12, 2011
Great shop, aromatics are top-notch if you like those style blends..

I also found when I was out there last July that they also had a

serious stock of SG & MC tins on the shelves ;-). When I was there