I've spent 3 weeks reading tutorials and still can't keep it lit. Please help!!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

36 Fresh Nørding Pipes
12 Fresh Moonshine Pipes
12 Fresh Mark Tinsky Pipes
23 Fresh Bruno Nuttens Pipes
36 Fresh Ropp Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

kaboom

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 12, 2012
Hello everyone!!
This horse has been beaten to death and ressucitated countless times, but I just can't get a hold of it.
I've been smoking pipes on and off for a few years, and i've enjoyed most of them, but for the life of me i just cannot keep the damn things lit more than a few seconds. I've tried EVERYTHING suggested in the myriad tutorials and videos available online, and its just not working out for me.
I've tried tobacco fresh off the tin, with 1, 2, 3, 24, 48 hours of air drying, english mixtures, a couple of aromatics, straight virginia rubbed out flakes...
I've tried briars and corncobs.
I've packed from WAY too lightly to way too tightly and everything in between.
I've used matches, lighters, zippos
I've tried slowing down, but then its just impossible to take more than to puffs in a row.
I've tried tamping softly, tamping a little more forcefully, tamping often, tamping less often, not tamping at all...
Before you tell me that the problem is that i'm doing way too many different things, as of lately i've been smoking mostly a single corncob with a single mixture. A Missouri Pride with Vintage Syrian. I'm able to smoke through the whole bowl with perhaps a dozen relights. That's significantly less that it used to be but still intolerable.
I'm not obsessed with achieving a 1-match-to-the-bottom smoke, but I cannot do ANYTHING while i'm smoking, it requires all of my attention to keep the damn thing lit, and I have to smoke it fast enough that I get the feeling i'm permanently on the edge of tongue bite.