PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

darthvader

Lurker
May 29, 2015
G'day,

New here but have enjoyed many others posts in the past. Thought i might share my latest acquisition off Ebay. An old Pat Dunhill (pretty sure its a 37' from under the grime) in the most deplorable condition supposedly from the estate of Howard Spring - Author in the 30-60's. I paid 22 clams for this and another (in similar poor condition). I'm a sucker for projects and these two pipes are real doosies. I'll post a few more pic's as i proceed.
Check out the cake on this baby! I could barely fit a match down to the bottom. The airway was still clear though. Fancy a quick 10 second smoke? (Sorry if the photos doesnt come up. I'm still learning this photobucket thing)
Still trying to get photos up.

georged

Lifer
Mar 7, 2013
It's more common than you'd think. Scary, huh? :lol:
Be sure to post pics of the finished project.

darthvader

Lurker
May 29, 2015
The other pipe. I've already reamed this one and picked away the old gunk from the top.

Photo's are taken on an iphone so they are what they are.

darthvader

Lurker
May 29, 2015
JB Wood weld for the rim to keep as original as possible. No topping for this one. It darkens after a few smoke and blends right in. I mix 1/3rd briar dust into the wood weld.

I've used this method a few times and it comes out really well and is very strong. I'll keep the band on for posterity's sake.

Mar 30, 2014
wv
Welcome aboard. That was some pretty heavy duty cake. I've had a few that were previously owned by the cake boss himself. Reamer? What's a reamer?
T21z0wNm.jpg

NgUYuZcm.jpg

QHWNCnhm.jpg

darthvader

Lurker
May 29, 2015
Thanks Dave!

Wow, some people really love their cake. Thats a sweet restoration you've done on that pipe. I dont tend to go to crazy on the finer details as i intend to use these as eveyday smokers.
The crack that necessitated the band. Looks like it's spread.

menuhin