PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shawnpawn69

Lurker
May 21, 2019
I am very new to the pipe world but among the ever growing mistakes in this fine world is the a pipe for let's say a English or lat tobacco..??

daniel7

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 11, 2018
Balatonalmádi, Hungary
Some clever guy says that bigger pipes are better for stronger blends because the tobacco burns on larger surface, so it gives softer taste.

It can be true. Or not.

nunnster

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 17, 2019
In my opinion, all pipes have a different "soul" to them. I have found that certain pipes smoke certain blends much better than others, and some pipes can make a blend you love into one you hate. Even pipes of the same name, era and style can smoke differently, atleast to me. With that said, if you are looking for a Pipe that constantly smokes most if not all tobacco blends well, I've herd that a meer is the way to go. I have very little experience to back up that claim however, since I've never owned a meer and have only had the pleasure of smoking one a few times.

bassbug

Lifer
Dec 29, 2016
No, no, no....
Every pipe and every tin of tobacco are different. They all have their own unique characteristics. Given that I would advice that the the only way to get full satisfaction is to order a new pipe along with every new tin of tobacco.
Keep in mind that the above advice comes from the guy that owns 6 pipes and smokes four of them on a regular basis :rofl:

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
No immutable rule. You might like different blends in different pipes, or like blends differently in different pipes, or not notice. Meers and cobs (and morta, etc.) each have their virtues. Some pipes likely have blind spots for specific blends. Try what you think will work well, try around a lot, and enjoy what you enjoy. This is another area where pipe smoking is an art not a technology.

Jan 8, 2013
It's all a matter of what works best for you.