PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

easterntraveler

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2012
I recently found out what my great grand father smoked in his pipe. With this information I took to ebay and found a tin for sale. The tin looks in great shape. No rust, seal never broken, and full. The tin however is about 40 years old. I am aware that because the tobacco has aged it will not be the same when my great gran grandfather smoked it but I think it would be a great experience if the tobacco is still good. However this is the risk I am talking about. The tobacco may not be good by that I mean dried out and moldy. Is the risk worth taking? To top it off I have one of his pipes.

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
I am still new to aged tobacco except having had some well aged cigars. That said, I have been trying to read up, do some homework and have been sampling all the aged baccy I can get. From what I can gather a 40 year old tin will be a risk. If it is truly sealed then I'm sure the tobacco will be fine to smoke. It may have passed its best days though and therefore may not be benefiting from that age the way one would hope. Still, if it's mainly for nostalgia and experience then I don't think it's a bad bet. Some of those with more experience may have a different take.

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
I agree with Gigger, you can't rely on the tin being smoke-able. I'd give it a 20%-30% chance. I've bought tins of coffin dust that weren't near that old. :cry:

toby67

Can't Leave
Sep 30, 2014
Australia