PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cameron

Lurker
Jun 24, 2013
I am new to smoking pipes, and purchased my first pipe and tobacco not very long ago, about a month ago. I smoke it about once per day.
I own a gourd calabash which I never have any problems with an a simple briar pipe with about a four inch stem.
I purchased both as estate pipes, being used.
When I smoke my briar pipe, I puff quickly and I notice that the bowl gets too hot to comfortably hold after some time, but still I can enjoy the pipe for about 15 minutes before the tobacco is expired.
I smoke captain black dark tobacco from it if that matters.
Tonight I noticed that the black stem of my pipe had before soft! It wobbled as I was clearing the ash from my pipe with my czech tool and bent slightly. After about thirty seconds it returned to its very solid state.
I was unaware that it was acrylic and I was under the impression that my pipe stems were made of wood.
I can provide pictures of my briar pipe if needed (it's not very impressive) but mostly, does anyone have any tips for keeping them temperature down, and does anyone have any experience with a pipe being too hot and a stem becoming soft?
I am worried that I may be damaging my pipe, or causing harmful chemicals to be released into my smoke.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated for this novice smoker.

jndyer

Lifer
Jul 1, 2012
Central Oregon
If I understand your post correctly, you got your pipe so hot that you started to melt the bit. If that is the case you are smoking your pipe way to hot and way to fast. How do you not have burns in your mouth. Did you get some kind of asbestos insert to go over your tongue? (Of course I am kidding, but smoking a bowl of Captain Black in fifteen minutes surely must be some kind of insane record.)