PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 10, 2013
So I'm still new to this I started out with an MM cob and upgraded to a no name Italy briar. I've been smoking it for a while and I was just thinking about upgrading. Not gonna get a $5,000 pipe but I've got my eye on what appears to be a decent deal. It's a k&p Peterson (that's about all I know so far) But my real question is if I get a better pipe will it really enhance my smoking experience? Or another way to word it. What's the difference from a mid grade pipe to a higher grade one?
Edit: Corrected capitalization in title per Rule #9, L.

Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I don't think a new smoker, or maybe any smoker, can expect twice as good a smoke from a $300 pipe

as compared to a $150 pipe (or from a $80 pipe compared to a $40 pipe). Pipes break in differently.

The smoker has preferences. There are intangibles of what you find appetizing in a pipe. But a good

quality pipe (at various price levels) is going to draw better, maybe burn more evenly and with less heat

from the bowl, and just deliver a better experience. Having a rotation is important. Also, I'd do a lot of

"window shopping" at pipe shops and online. You learn a lot and develop some idea of how to get the

best pipe for whatever dollars you have to spend.

roudoudou

Might Stick Around
Aug 24, 2012
Montreal
As rothnh said, it's more about increasing one's rotation.
And having a 200$ pipe won't necessarily improve your smoking pleasure. In fact, there're a lot of 5$ pipe which smoke as good than 100-200$ ones. Price is mostly about the wood.
My advice: if you like the hobby, go and give yourself a gift. And why not get a pipe you find attractive.
From your post, you're thinking of buying your 3rd pipe. If you smoke a couple of times a day, it's the barely minimum you should have (since we recommend letting your pipe rest a day between bowls).