PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

wesquire

Lurker
Jul 29, 2015
USA
Hello, I have been smoking pipes for about 6 years,but I have stuck to the aromatic blends that my local shop sells. I've been slowly trying out non-aromatics. I've liked the Virginia's and I've decided to invest a little more time and money towards pipe smoking. I just ordered some McClelland 5100 and 3 friars based off some recommendations. What are your "must buy" Virginias? Side question, how much difference does it make to smoke different types of tobacco in your pipes? Does having specialized pipes really make it better? I've been just using one pipe ever since I started. I'm not a heavy smoker, sometimes I'll go months in between smokes, sometimes it's a bowl per day. Anyways, just picked up a savinelli 601k "professor" and found a cool, big, kriswill supreme on eBay that I bought. So to wrap this all up, I'm a new member with 2 new pipes wanting to explore beyond aromatics. Thanks

cobguy

Lifer
Oct 18, 2013
I just ordered some McClelland 5100
Very good first Virginia pick ... easy to pack, easy to smoke.
You may want to try a Navy Flake as well ... Dunhill Flake, OGS, Newminster #400, Klondike Gold, Capstan, etc ...

Perique

Lifer
Sep 20, 2011
www.tobaccoreviews.com
My recommendations for a new Virginia smoker include Stokkebye Luxury Navy Flake, Orlik Golden Sliced, and Dunhill Flake. These blends are flavorful, high quality, and easy to smoke (minimal prep, good moisture level, not tempermental, easy to find, and relatively forgiving).
If you have previously smoked only aromatics, pipe dedication makes a BIG difference. I suggest reserving your original pipe for your aromatics, and the new one for your Virginia blends.

JimInks

Sultan of Smoke
Aug 31, 2012