PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gordebak

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 12, 2016
Hello everyone!
I'm fairly new to smoking pipes, I just bought a pipe a few days ago. It smokes great. I try to read as much as I can to do it right.
I have a question though: The seller of the pipe said it's made of walnut. It's a cheap pipe, but I'm not sure if he's right. He seemed to not know a lot about smoking pipes. Are there walnut pipes? It's good, gets hot sometimes, but that may be my fault. I'm sure a briar pipe would be better, but it's what I have now.

May 4, 2015
Welcome!!
I don't know about walnut pipes, but I do know that Missouri Meerschaum corn cob pipes are cheap and guaranteed winners.
I'd get on one of our fine sponsors' sites and get you some proper cobs.
Cheers!

gordebak

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 12, 2016
Thanks a lot!
I bought this pipe to see if I'd like smoking a pipe, and it turns out I like it very much. My next purchase will be a briar pipe, I'm sure, because I really wonder the difference.

gordebak

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 12, 2016
:) I don't have a set budget, but I'm sure my second pipe wouldn't be more than 100 bucks. Can I buy a quality briar pipe with that amount?

Jun 4, 2014
Welcome to the forum. Some fruit and nut woods can be used to make pipes, but none have the properties of briar. As to your second question, you will be able to get a quaility briar pipe in the $100.00 price range. There are several factory made pipes that fall into that range Savinelli, Peterson, Stanwell, etc.

gordebak

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 12, 2016
Thanks derfatdutchman!
I was reading through the forums, and I might buy a Savinelli or Stanwell. But all in good time. For now I will enjoy my walnut pipe for a while.

Dec 28, 2015
I would highly recommend a Savinelli. Preferably a 673. I have pipes that cost more but none that smoke better. My 2 cents.
Oh and welcome to the family.