PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

flake

Lurker
Nov 8, 2018
I hope this isn't to long winded...But, some background...I have been smoking a pipe on and off, mostly off for 8-10 years. I used to smoke a few times a month and with whatever bag of tobacco I had lying around from my local tobacconists' blends. The last couple of months though I have really gotten into the hobby and been studying about tobaccos, blends, and pipes. Along with acquiring more of each, and smoking a lot more. I am much more educated on the mechanics of smoking as well as the products available. I am primarily enjoying both English blends and VaPers.
My question is: Some specific blends (say for example GL Pease Gaslight) taste not so great one time and bite, and then the next time I smoke the blend it is like nirvana...can this be due to a host of factors like moisture, the pipe itself, my packing, etc.? Does everything have to line up correctly for me to enjoy a blend consistently every time? I am currently smoking 5 or 6 bowls a day as I am wanting to try so many different things, and admittedly my tongue is a little sore...likely due to my increased smoking. Anyway, insight? I just want to have a consistent experience and know what I like but it has been a moving target.

ophiuchus

Lifer
Mar 25, 2016
The reasons could be many. Others will follow with suggestions. I'm just curious ...
How are you prepping your Gaslight? Are you cutting it perpendicular to the layers like a flake? Or are you peeling the plug layer by layer?

chilllucky

Lifer
Jul 15, 2018
Chicago, IL, USA
scoosa.com
Pipe smoking is a dynamic exercise. Factors of biology (hydration, to take one), psychology, environment, and who knows what else influence every part of any given smoke.