Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:   

I'm a Very New Pipe Smoker

(50 posts)
  1. eibhir

eibhir

Login to Send PM

Hello,
    I'm a beginner and picked up the pipe on the 11th. I'm kicking the cigarette habit and starting the pipe hobby. My husband says my little briar is much sexier than the cigs ever where. I've been reading on the net that you need more than one pipe, but I cant afford to get a second one until next month. Is it bad to smoke it everyday? I do clean it out every morning with pipe cleaners and it tastes great once I get it lit. I really like it so much better than the cigs and don't want to buy anymore of those. Thanks for your advice!

A smile will always keep them guessing.
    Posted 1 year ago #
  2. smokeybear

smokeybear

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Welcome

I too Im new and became a pipe smoker for just about the same reasons you did. First things you'll notice is that you will be saving lots more money with pipe tobacco then cig's and you can get better quality stuff too.

ill just say what everyone else is going to tell you buy yourself a corn cob and smoke it to your hearts content this is enough so that your briar will get the rest it needs without you missing out on a relaxing smoke. and best part about it they are cheap.

you made a great choice chosen a pipe then another great choice joining this forum, But dont think your done with the choices lol you still have thousands of tobaccos to try. its a hell of a journey But im really enjoying it and im sure you will also.

Packing tips:

Fill bowl to the top very lightly pack it down to about half the bowl
    Fill it to the top again Lightly pack it down to 2/3rds of the bowl
    Fill to the top again Firmly pack it about 1/8th below the rim.
    Test your draw (should feel like drinking through a straw)

Lighting tips:

Use Matches or Butane lighter (easier)
    Light the top evenly and puff lightly until tobacco glows slightly and rises.