PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
the tital pretty much says it all. im new to pipes.any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.im looking for a nice pipe for a low price as i dont have much money. the pipe i have currently is ok, its a lucienne.i read on another forum that it is made of walnut.the bowl on the inside is black and feels like some sort of clay.

sherlock

Can't Leave
Aug 21, 2011
I smoked a lot of corncobs when I first started, they are about as cheap as you'll find. I would also check your local tobacco shop and ask them if the have and factory seconds or shop pipes. My first real pipe was one of these and I still use it. Most online shops also have a section for pipes under $50. Other than that I would check out some pipe tobacco review sites, just google it, and the tobacco review section here for suggestions on the kind of tobacco to get or you could try a sampler from a tobacco shop and go from there. Happy smoking!

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
As Sherlock says cobs are inexpensive and smoke well. Check After you get more experienced buying estates on ebay is a cheap way to build a collection.

Jul 12, 2011
agree, get some MM Cobs (marscigars.com has them pretty cheap), get our Uncle A to make you some nice stems for them and you are good-to-go :puffy:

bubbadreier

Lifer
Jul 30, 2010
Norman, Oklahoma
If you look at the left hand column near the bottom you will see a list of articles written for Pipesmagazine.com These articles will help you find all sorts of information about our hobby!
Welcome to the forums!

ssjones

Staff member
May 11, 2011
Maryland
postimg.cc