Pipes Magazine » General Pipe Smoking Discussion

Tags:  No tags yet. 

I Tried My First Virginia Today

(37 posts)
  1. zonomo

zonomo

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

My HH Virginia Mature arrived today. Oh my, I did not like it at all. I didn't like the smell or the taste. Do I need to give it a few bowls? I tried it in a brand new Savinelli pipe.

Posted 1 year ago #
  2. taerin

Eric

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Give it some time to age, VA's if they come out too early, taste horrible, but end up being amazing later on after some aging.

"The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time."
    Mark Twain
    Posted 1 year ago #
  3. wallace

wallace

Login to Send PM

Too bad, I love that stuff!
    I'd do what Eric says, put it on a shelf and try it in a few months. I'm pretty new to this also and have found that my tastes have developed to where I like some things now that didn't appeal to me when I first started.

Edit: I wouldn't expect the flavor to change much in a few months. More for you than the baccy.

Posted 1 year ago #
  4. cigrmaster

cigrmaster

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Smoking Virginia's takes practice. First off you tried it in a brand new pipe with no cake, secondly you have never tasted that flavor before so you don't really know what to look for. Also if you did not dry it enough or smoked it too fast and did not pack it right, you won't get much flavor. When Virginia's are smoked in a broken in pipe with a nice cake and sipped slowly, the flavors come out in a harmony of deliciousness. Do not give up, stay with it and keep practicing, it will come.

Harris
    Posted 1 year ago #
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM

HH Mature Virginia is my favorite blend.