PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 14, 2012
Asking me to refrain from smoking indoors in my NYC apartment. It wasn't even signed, but I assume it was from the yuppie neighbors. The nerve! I will ignore it of course. If confronted I will suggest that they 1) Seal off their apartment, or 2)Move. I have been smoking in here for 48 years this week. I was smoking in here when they moved in. They could have declined to take the apartment if they did not like it. But no, they took the place and now want other people to conform to their trendy ideas. I would have to be ordered to stop smoking by a judge in order to comply.If anyone has any experience with this problem and knows how to fight it, lets hear about it.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
Wow - that sucks Foggy! What are the laws concerning smoking in one's own apt - are there any restrictions that you know of?
If not, I would ignore it. If so, I would look into an air purifier to cut down on the odor and smoke. No sense in getting the situation escalated and risk losing your right to smoke.
best of luck and keep us posted please.

About 8 years ago, I was in an apartment complex here in Alabama, where the neighbors upstairs started complaining to me to stop smoking in my own apartment. I went to my manager and complained about them. That just stepped up their annoying me, and I just documented their behavior (notes on my door, recording their banging on the floor, and videos of their accosting me in the hallway, etc...) until they were finally evicted. If there is nothing mentioned in the lease about smoking, enjoy your pipe.

jfox520

Part of the Furniture Now
May 24, 2013
Just tell them it is marijuana and they will rally around you for your right to smoke it.

Dec 24, 2012
Foggy, this may help you (written from the OTHER perspective)
http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/downloads/pdf/smoke/shs-in-residences.pdf