I don't inhale but have chest congestion?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

skagit

Lurker
Jan 27, 2015
Hey guys-
So I'm still really new to this, and I tell myself I don't inhale, but my chest is kinda telling me otherwise. Am I doing something wrong or do you typically have chest congestion after you smoke?
All of you who responded to my other thread from a few days ago in the beginner section will be happy to know I'm on track for two smokes this week...I thought I was done with peer pressure years ago. :wink:
--Skagit 8)

Jan 8, 2013
There's always a chance you're taking some smoke into your lungs whether you're inhaling or not, you are after all taking smoke into your mouth, especially if you are smoking indoors. You may also be bringing the smoke into you're nose as you are breathing and therefore inhaling some smoke. If you are a new smoker you may be more susceptible to discomfort as you're body is thinking... "What the crap are you putting into my lungs!" However, I am not a doctor or in a medical profession in any manner so I could be totally wrong. You could also just be getting a chest cold. Who knows? Either way, I hope you get over your discomfort soon, and it might be best to put the pipe away for a couple days until you feel better. No point in irritating your chest congestion further.

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
I'd recommend getting that checked out. If it's not constant (as it usually is with colds/flu/upper respiratory crap), and if it's definitely connected with smoking (i.e. doesn't happen at other times, always happens after a bowl sort of correlation), it could be allergies or asthma, which would suck. But definitely get it checked out - I've had enough relatives with lung ailments to be less than blase' about my lungs, though I continue to accept the risks associated with pipe smoking.

skagit

Lurker
Jan 27, 2015