PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamjames

Lurker
Jan 14, 2013
Hi guys, this is my first post. Actually, I'm rather new to pipe smoking altogether; I only turned 18 this year.
I know from reviews that the straight system pipes by Peterson are a devil to clean, but I can't find anyone who actually tells you how. There's supposed to be a moisture-well underneath the bowl, or something, which is hard to get at. My Peterson arrived today, and I like it a lot; so I don't want to ruin it.
How should it be cleaned?
(Also, one review I read recommended taking the metal bit out of the stem to stop pipe gurgle. As far as I know, this is a filter of some kind, and designed to catch "bad stuff". Is removing it a good idea? Any further recommendations would be most welcome. Thanks.)

englishdave

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 31, 2012
Denver, CO
Adam:
My first pipe was a Peterson 301. Still have it, smokes well, and I got it when I was about your age.
You don't really need the metal filter in the stem. It tends to capture gunk anyway. I would pitch it.
I clean the reservoir with a either a pipe cleaner either doubled over, or a q-tip.
The system pipes make it difficult sometimes to pass a pipe cleaner through with the stem still on. But your 31 is a straight pipe, so it shouldn't be a problem. In any event, it has a military mount so it's safe to remove the stem before the pipe has cooled, so you can clean it up at will.
Hope this helps.

adamjames

Lurker
Jan 14, 2013
Yeah, thanks Dave, that sounds like good advice.
And it's good to see that there are some English people here.

hans

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 3, 2012
Don't be so fast to get rid of that metal condenser. It is there for a reason. A system is not a system with a main component of it missing. Also your draw will become much more wide open.
I say stick to the cleaning advice Dave gave otherwise.

rcstan

Lifer
Mar 7, 2012
Sunset Beach NC
Welcome to the forum!