PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsiddle

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 24, 2012
So as you all know, I am a rookie smoker, and have been told to really slow down when smoking to grab more of the flavors of the tobaccos...
How slow is too slow? A drag every 30 seconds? every minute?
How slow can you go without having to relight every time you drag?
Any recommended cadences to try as I have not really found one that suits me? Been doing a 2 quick puffs, then long drag, probably every 10 seconds.

mkvillaire

Might Stick Around
Sep 8, 2012
Good question. I'm still working on that as well. I try to keep it slow and thats when I get the flavors. However, it forces me to have many relights. I know relighting is okay, but when I do it the tobacco burns hotter at that point thus altering the taste.

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
js, it isn't about how many seconds between puffs, it is about slowly sipping your pipe every few seconds to keep it going and to keep getting flavor.You don't have to take long drags, it is almost like breathing through your pipe if you can picture that. It isn't like taking a big drag off a cigar or cigarette. Exhaling through your nose also gives you a lot of flavor. Pipe smoking has a large learning curve, no one gets it right off the bat, be patient.

nehemias88

Lurker
Sep 28, 2012
I find myself taking drags too strong or too many times. I agree with photoman13. I wouldn't worry too much about that, or else nothing would be right as you smoke. That definitely ruins the experience.

dervis

Lifer
Jan 30, 2012
Hazel Green AL