Pipes Magazine » Pipe Smoking Basics & Beginner Questions

Tags:  No tags yet. 

How Many Tobaccos in Your Rotation?

(79 posts)
  1. kylef

kylef

Login to Send PM

Okay, so I've been smoking a pipe, albeit somewhat infrequently, for a little over two years.

I've made it a point to try a whole range of tobaccos, all kinds of aromatics, English and Virginias. I think I've tried about 15 different ones so far. A couple of them have stuck out for me as favorites, particularly MacBaren's 7 Seas Regular, but really, I've liked virtually every one I've tried.

But when I read all the descriptions of all these hundreds of different blends, I just want to keep trying new ones.

What do more experienced pipers lean towards, as far as how many blends do you rotate? Do you primarily smoke a favorite, and occasionally mix in something else? Do you have four or five blends that you go back and forth with?

Right now, I pretty much never smoke the same thing twice in a row--I love the variety.

I know there's no "right" answer, but I'm just curious as to what others do.

Posted 9 months ago #
  2. unkleyoda

unkleyoda

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

My rotation has 2 types English and Virginia types

My English rotation:
    Nightcap
    Blairgowrie
    Star of the East
    Latakia Flake
    Balkan Delight
    Dunhill Standard Mixture

Virginia Mixes:
    Escudo
    PS Luxury Navy Flake
    Bullseye Flake
    Royal Yacht

I have a few others that come into and out of the rotations, but that is my core.

Proper English
    HH Vintage Syrian
    HH Bold Kentucky
    Irish Flake
    Old Dublin
    The Solent Mixture
    Golden Sliced

and a few others.

So you say you can drink? Well, I'm from Wisconsin. Try to keep up.
    Posted 9 months ago #
  3. bnichols23

Bill Nichols

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM