How Many Different Blends Have You Tried?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
I know some folks pick one or two blends they fall in love with and stay with them forever. But I've always enjoyed trying a wide variety. Because I'm neurotic enough about such things to keep a tobacco journal, I just noticed that the sample I just got of Ennerdale makes it the 160th blend I've tried since I started smoking a pipe. That sounds like a lot, maybe, until you figure I've been smoking a pipe for 34 years. That's just under 5 new blends every year. . . which seems like a drop in the bucket. (Or whatever the pipe smoking simile would be.)
Does anyone else keep track like this?
Bob

spartan

Lifer
Aug 14, 2011
Oh dear Bob.
Who has the time to track things like this?!
Actually I used to, until I started participating in the box pass. Then I gave up / lost track.
I'd say I'm around 50 blends tried in 3 years of pipe smoking.

rmbittner

Lifer
Dec 12, 2012
Well, apparently I do! :) But I used to keep a wine journal too.
I've often recommended here that folks keep tobacco journals. It's a great way to look back at your journey, revisit the blends you liked and didn't, tie them to specific points in your life, and have a record of blends that may, in the future, disappear entirely.
But, then, I'm nostalgic by nature.
BTW, Spartan, if you keep up this pace, you'll hit 564 blends by the time you've been smoking as long as I have. And that would definitely be something to shout about!
Bob

winton

Lifer
Oct 20, 2010
Actually I was thinking of tracking the blends I try at the next Chicago Pipe Show.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Like most, I have no idea. I would guess I've had a tin or bulk bag, or at least a sample, of about

forty blends, but that could be low-ball. I don't think it's fewer. I don't think it's more than eighty.