PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcel

Might Stick Around
Feb 25, 2015
I was conflicted wether to post this here or in the New Pipe Smoker section but I'm posting it here because I want to get an average from experienced pipe smokers. I'm not a newbie but have returned to pipe smoking after 12 years of not smoking at all. Having got all my mothballed pipes up from the basement I discovered I have unopened tins of G.L.Pease's Caravan and Barbary Coast to look forward to smoking. There was also an opened tin of Mac Baren's Mixture I'm trying to resurrect (actually it smokes quite well with a little humidification).
So the question I'm posing to the forum is how many choices do you have when you decide to smoke a bowl? As a returning smoker I disqualify myself because I'm still trying brands that smell like cat piss and burnt hair (and you know that's someones go to blend). But after the smoke settles as it were, and you know what you like, how many blends do you have open at one time.

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
Hi Marcel, I have way too many! I've got about 40 blends open right now because I need to get more jars. I've been finding lately when going for a blend I haven't smoked for a while that it needs some rehydration. No big deal, it's just maintenance I figure. It's getting hard to find space for storing more jars with out TBH getting a frown though. Beware of TAD, it is addicting:)

beastkhk

Can't Leave
Feb 3, 2015
I keep 7-10 mason jars for blends bought in bulk, but for tins I don't like to have more than 3 open at a time.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
Ten currently. I use a lot of honey, and these nice little jars accomodate a tin's contents quite nicely as well as keeping them fresh.
http://pipesmagazine.com/members/chasingembers/album/picture/15613