PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nabottle

Can't Leave
Apr 27, 2011
Since I am very new to pipe smoking, there are many things I'm unsure of. One is this: When breaking in a briar, how hot can the bowl get without fear of damage? Honestly, from all of the talk here and the reading I've done, I'm more than a little scared. I just want to take the best care of my new pipes that I can as I'm breaking them in. Can/Should a new briar be smoked more than once in a single day?

nemrod

Can't Leave
Apr 28, 2011
Sweden
I smoked way hot when I was a newbie with my first briar and it's taken no damage. YMMV, of course, but I don't think you should be too scared unless it's so hot you don't want to hold it in your hand. Being careful never hurts, however, so taking extra care to smoke cool until it's broken in isn't wrong.
I usually let my new pipes rest a full day between single smokes (i.e. I smoke one bowl (loaded full) day 1, don't smoke it day 2, smoke one full bowl day 3, and so on) until it's broken in.
I don't know if it's just me but I think that if I smoke it too much in succession in the beginning it'll start tasting and smelling bad, but it disappears with time and becomes more resilient the more you smoke it. Could just be superstition. o_o

nabottle

Can't Leave
Apr 27, 2011
Thanks guys. I was probably just being too paranoid. I appreciate the advice.

fullbent

Can't Leave
May 6, 2011
The petersons I have always smoke hot!It could be me too,I tend to smoke heavy!

julesholling

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 19, 2011
Sutton, Surrey
Mine smokes hot too. But when it starts to feel too hot against my cheek i just stop, let it go out and cool down and then pick it up again a few mins later.